Friday, July 17, 2020

Seven Poses of Mental Yoga 心灵瑜伽的七个招式

Objectives:Facilitate positive thinking, accomplish emotional shift out of negative energy, improve mental flexibility, balance and strength.

Pose 1: Awareness

  • When you encounter negative energy, first calm down and just let yourself become aware of and then face / accept the existence of the negative emotions, such as anger, grievance, disappointment, anxiety, venting, etc. 

  • Do not blame yourself (otherwise you are adding more negative energy on top of what you already have).  Accept the existence.

Pose 2: Gratitude

  • Think of 5 things to be grateful for in life, the more concrete, the better, e.g. the salad I had for lunch was so delicious, today we had rain after a hot day, this sweatshirt I am wearing is really comfortable, etc. 

  • Note everyone’s list is different, try not to compare; If you absolutely need to compare, compare yourself to those in misery.  

Pose 3:  Compassion / empathy

  • Try to put yourself in others’ shoes and understand the existence of a circumstance or a person, without emotions or judgement.  

  • Note you don’t have to agree to or like the subject, just acknowledge there is a reason for its existence. Find 3 reasons why it exists, e.g. historical reasons, economic pressure, identity crisis, influence from environment, lack of love at childhood, etc.

Pose 4:  Analysis and isolation

  • Isolate your emotions from the matter itself, analyze whether it is the fact itself or your emotions that caused most of the pain, ask yourself how much truth you have, and how much imagination is embedded.

  • Isolate someone’s approach from his/her intention, if needed.

  • Assess if you are able to solve the issue, separate the part you can solve directly, the part you can influence, and the part beyond your capacity;

Pose 5:  Reverse thinking & multi-angle thinking   

  • Think of 5 different or even opposite perspectives about the situation you are facing (vs. your original perspectives). 

  • Be creative and look at things from different angles, imagine you are in a debate contest and have to switch side now;

Pose 6:  Perspective Thinking  

  • Go observe nature, especially those with vast scope, e.g. ocean, starry sky, moon, forest, lake, if not accessible, you can even just go to your backyard or a park nearby.  

  • Realize that the troubles you are facing seem much smaller compared to the vast universe and the ever flowing time. 

Pose 7: Introspection and self love

  • Look into yourself, and see if there are areas you can improve, e.g. better communication, be more sensitive to other people’s needs, improve independent self esteem, etc. 

  • Note even under confrontational situations, this is not showing weakness, on the contrary, this is strength to elevate yourself to be a better being for your own good.  Remember you are doing this for yourself out of self love. 

At this point, hope you have more or less accomplished an emotional shift from negative to positive.  The positive emotions include calmness, objectiveness, self-examination, empathy, analyticity, patience, self-love, gratitude, communicativeness, constructiveness, etc.

With positive thinking empowering you, you often become stronger and are more likely to succeed in future communications and reconciliations with others. Tackle the parts that you can control. If things still do not work out, repeat the process. After all, you are doing things to make your decisions more sensible and less regretful.






想想生活中至少5件让你觉得感恩的事情,越具体,越好。比如我午餐吃的沙拉是如此美味,今天我们在炎热的一天之后等来了一场雨,我穿的运动衫非常舒适,等。 注意每个人的单子都是不同的,尽量不要进行比较; 如果您必须要比较,请将自己与处于痛苦中的人进行比较。  









第七式: 内省和自爱:




1 comment:

Unknown said...

So very beautiful and tranquil! I love the colors. D.H.